Institute Of Foresters Malaysia was Established on February 3, 1979. It Registered with Registrar of Societies Malaysia – August 2, 1980 and its Members from Professional Foresters both in public and private sectors.




The Institute of Foresters, Malaysia (IRIM) was inaugurated on 3 February 1979 and subsequently approved by the Registrar of Societies Malaysia on 2 August 1980. Members of the institute consist of professional foresters, both in public and private sectors, who practice forestry as their career and contribute towards improving the management and development of the forestry sector in Malaysia.

The objectives of IRIM:-

  1. Maintain and improve standard of practice and professionalism of foresters.
  2. Promote and advance the science and practice of forestry.
  3. Continually review the status of the forestry profession and the professional conduct of members by maintaining a code of conduct and practice.
  4. Continually review the role of forestry and the changing needs of education, research and industry, and to give appropriate advice concerning such matters where needed.
  5. Provide advice to the Government, its statutory bodies, the industry and the members of the public in matters pertaining of forestry development.
  6. Hold meetings, workshops, seminars conferences, exhibitions and visits, and such other activities as the Institute may deem incidental or conducive to the promotion or attainment of the profession forestry.
  7. Represent the views of the forestry profession.
  8. Communicate to members information on all matters affecting the profession of forestry and to print, public, issue and circulate such publications as may seem conducive to any of the objects of the Institute.
  9. Offer and conduct prescribed examinations for professional qualifications of members.
  10. Maintain correspondence and co-operation with other organisations.
  11. Undertake other activities deemed expedient.


NameTerm of Office/Session (Year)
1.K.D Menon1979/1980
2.K.D Menon1980/1981
3.K.D Menon1981/1982
4.K.D Menon1982/1983
5.Dato’ Muhammad Jabil1983/1984
6.Dato’ Muhammad Jabil1984/1985
7.Dato’ Mohamed Darus Haji Mahmud1985/1986
8.Dato’ Mohamed Darus Haji Mahmud1986/1987
9.Dato’ Mohamed Darus Haji Mahmud1987/1988
10.Dato’ Dr. Salleh Mohd Nor1988/1989
11.Dato’ Othman Abdul Manan1989/1990
12.Dato’ Othman Abdul Manan1990/1991
13.Dato’ Othman Abdul Manan1991/1992
14.Dato’ Dr. Baharuddin Hj. Ghazali1992/1993
15.Dato’ Abdul Latif Nordin1993/1994
16.Sheikh Ibrahim Sheikh Ali1994/1995
17.Sheikh Ibrahim Sheikh Ali1995/1996
18.Dr. Wan Razali Wan Mohd1996/1997
19.Dr. Wan Razali Wan Mohd1997/1998
20Haron Hj. Abu Hassan 1998/1999
21Haron Hj. Abu Hassan 1999/2000
22Haron Hj. Abu Hassan2000/2001
23Datuk Zul Mukhshar bin Dato’ Md. Shaari2001/2002
24Datuk Zul Mukhshar bin Dato’ Md. Shaari2002/2003
25Dato’ Hj. Abdul Rashid bin Mat Amin2003/2004
26Dato’ Hj. Abdul Rashid bin Mat Amin2004/2005
27Dato’ Hj. Abdul Rashid bin Mat Amin2005/2006
25Dato’ Dr. Hj. Wan Razali Wan Mohd2006/2007
26Dato’ Hj. Dahlan bin Hj. Taha2007/2008
27Dato’ Hj. Dahlan bin Hj. Taha2008/2009
28Dato’ Razani bin Ujang2009/2010
29Dato’ Razani bin Ujang2010/2011
30Dato’ Razani bin Ujang2011/2012
31Dato’ Prof. Dr. Hj. Abd. Rahman bin Hj. Abd. Rahim2012/2013
32Hj. Haron Hj. Abu Hassan2013/2014
33.Hj. Haron Hj. Abu Hassan2014/2015
33.Dr. Chin Tuck Yuan2015/2016
34.Dr. Chin Tuck Yuan2016/2017