Path of Exile Beginner’s Guide

Path of Exile is an action role playing game, or ARPG, developed by a company based in New Zealand called Grinding Gear Games. The game borrows heavily from the Diablo game series. There are six classes; ranger, maurauder, duelist, shadow, witch and templar. There’s another class that won’t be freed until players have released her from a cage in Act 3. The core attributes for the classes are intelligence, dexterity and strength depending on the type of character chosen.




Gameplay and How to Start

The player lands on the shores of Wraeclast where criminals and other unwanted types are sent from the city of Oriath. The player will have no weapons and no armor. The undead and other creatures will attack, and the player must use any weapons they find during exploration and battles. Once the player has made it from the shore into the first town, they will be able to buy items from NPCs with items that dropped previously. There are four Acts in Path of Exile. Each act brings more quests and higher difficulty.

The PATH of EXILE SURVIVAL GUIDE 2.0 – The Ultimate Beginner’s Walkthrough



Loot and Currency

Unlike other online games in Singapore, this game doesn’t have a traditional gold or money system. Items are sold for currency items like orbs or scrolls. There’s no auction house like some other games. Orbs and scrolls have their uses as well. They can upgrade items, open portals to the nearest town, corrupt gear or weapons or change the statistics of an item. Players can trade high level gear for orbs in the trade chat channel.

Orb Currency


Passive Skill Tree

Each class starts in a certain section of the skill tree. Each class has base skills, but each point can create an extremely customized character. They help increase the base stats and the health or mana of the character. Each skill node will help the character enhance attacks and spells.

Path of Exile: The Awakening – Socketed Skill Trees and Act IV Expansion



Spells and Attacks

Players can change their attacks and spells with the use of gems. There are colored gem slots on gear that allow players to add an attack or spell gem. Blue gems like Firestorm can be added to the blue slot on a witch’s wand to give the witch the Firestorm ability. Any class can use any gem as long as they have the right stats to use it as well as the corresponding color gem slot. There are support gems that can be used to further enhance the spells and attacks. They have to be linked to the appropriate gem.



Every few months, Grinding Gear Games will start a temporary league. Previous temporary leagues included Warbands, where players would come across bands of enemies with high level abilities, and Bloodlines, where magic monsters with difficult modifications would attack players. One of the leagues that is always in the game is Standard, which is where all characters end up after a league is over. The other constant league is Hardcore. Hardcore players cannot be resurrected. A player who dies has their character sent back to Standard.

The game is free to play. The game is sustained through microtransactions that have no impact on gameplay, but give players a way to customize the look of their character and support game creators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 − 12 =